First Timer's Contest Flyer.pdf (1 page) 2016-01-28 04-51-15

Enter the NASCOE First Timer’s Contest to win a $500 scholarship to attend your first national convention! One scholarship will be awarded to a NASCOE member from each area, for a total of 5 scholarships. Applicants must submit a one-page essay of 500 words or less explaining why they want to attend the convention.

E-mail essays to by April 1, 2016 for your chance to win!

For official contest rules, please visit the

2016 NASCOE First Timer’s Contest

Contest Overview
The First Timer’s Contest will award a $500 scholarship to an eligible NASCOE member from each area to help defray the cost of attending the 2016 NASCOE Convention in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Applicants must submit a one-page essay of 500 words or less explaining to the judging panel why they want to attend the convention.

Applicants must be regular NASCOE members in good standing. Applicants must have never attended a NASCOE national convention. Winners must attend the 2016 NASCOE Convention in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and be present for all general sessions and the awards banquet. Failure to meet the attendance requirement will result in forfeiture of the scholarship and a full refund of $500 will be required.

Essays must be submitted via email to by April 1, 2016. Email subjects should contain the applicant’s last name as well as their area (Example: Rater-SWA) and the essay should be attached as a Microsoft Word document or PDF. Also, all essays should include a heading including the applicant’s name, county office and state, and area.

Example: Kristal Rater
Hunt County, Texas

Southwest Area

The judging panel will consist of Area Publicity Chairs. However, Chairs will not be allowed to judge entries from their respective area. Essays will be judged independently and scored on a scale from 1 to 20. Total scores from each judge will be added together to obtain a composite score for each essay. The highest scoring essay from each area will be declared a scholarship winner. Ties will be broken by the National Publicity Chair. Winners will be notified by May 15, 2016.

Scholarship and Recognition
Verification of hotel reservation and convention registration must be received by the National Publicity Chair prior to distribution of scholarship funds, but no later than July 1, 2016. Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the awards banquet.

Judging Panel

  • National Publicity Chair
    • Kristal Rater
  • Midwest Area Publicity Chair
    • Teresa Holmquist 
  • Northeast Area Publicity Chair
    • Tina Penley
  • Northwest Area Publicity Chair
    • Christy Randall
  • Southeast Area Publicity Chair
    • Megan Kennedy
  • Southwest Area Publicity Chair
    • Carla Spencer